[Solved] Excel Spreadsheet

Written by

in

✓ Verified Academic Solution Available

Executive Solution Overview

[>Accounting homework help](https://www.sweetstudy.com/fields/business-finance-accounting) Please see the following **files (2)** – ## Week4HandsOn02-Instructions.doc – Week4-HandsOn01Instructions.doc **## Week4HandsOn02-Instructions.doc** Week 4 Hands On 02 Instructions **Exercise 4:** **Course Obj…

Instant Solution Download

$6.99

Immediate access to the full model answer, formatted citations, and rubric breakdown.

Need a Fresh Custom Paper?

Have this question answered from scratch according to your specific instructions and deadline.

Order on TutorsGallery →

Assignment Prompt & Instructions

[>Accounting homework help](https://www.sweetstudy.com/fields/business-finance-accounting)

Please see the following

**files (2)**

– ## Week4HandsOn02-Instructions.doc

– Week4-HandsOn01Instructions.doc

**## Week4HandsOn02-Instructions.doc**

Week 4 Hands On 02

Instructions

**Exercise 4:**

**Course Objectives:**

· CO8: Import and manipulate data from various sources, use templates and text functions, paste and transpose data, and utilize quick analysis tools for streamlined data handling and presentation.

**Estimated time to Complete:**  20 minutes

**Description:**

Student will learn about:

· Creating and using templates.

**Required Resources:**

· Access to Microsoft Excel.

**Deliverable:**

After completing the assignment, upload the spreadsheet to the Canvas Assignment.

**Setup:**

Access to Microsoft Excel.

**Lab Steps:**

**Creating and Using a Template**

1. Create a new spreadsheet with the following data:

| | | | | | | | | | |
| — | — | — | — | — | — | — | — | — | — |
| **Meyor Insurance**<br>**Sales Analysis** |
| **Branch** | **Category** | **2020 In-Office Premiums in $** | **2021 In-Office Premiums in $** | **2020 Online Premiums in $** | **2021 Online Premiums in $** | **Percentage Increase or Decrease** | | **Sum of Categories** | **2021 Totals** |
| | a | 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 50.00% | | a | 6 |

**Save the Template​**

1. Click the File tab and click Save As to display the Save As screen​.

2. Click the Browse button to display the Save As dialog box​.

3. Type the desired file name in the File name box​.

4. Click the “Save as type” arrow and then click Excel Template in the list to specify that this workbook should be saved as a template​.

5. Navigate to the desired save location​.

6. Click Save to save the template.

**Opening a Template-Based File and Save It as a Workbook​**

1. With Excel active, click File Explorer button on the taskbar to start the File Explorer app​.

2. Navigate to the location of the file to be opened​.

3. Double-click the template file to open a new file based on the template​.

4. Click the File tab and click Save As to display the Save As screen​.

5. Click the Browse button to display the Save As dialog box​.

6. Type the file name in the File name box and then navigate to your storage location​.

Click Save to save the file

**Uploading completed worksheet**

1. Save the workbook to your local drive.

2. Upload the saved spreadsheet to Canvas.

**Part 5**

**Course Objectives:**

· CO8: Import and manipulate data from various sources, use templates and text functions, paste and transpose data, and utilize quick analysis tools for streamlined data handling and presentation.

**Estimated time to Complete:**  20 minutes

**Description:**

Student will learn about:

· Creating and using templates.

**Required Resources:**

· Access to Microsoft Excel.

**Deliverable:**

After completing the assignment, upload the spreadsheet to the Canvas module.

**Setup:**

Access to Microsoft Excel.

**Lab Steps:**

**Creating and Using a Template**

1. Create a tab delimited text file with the following data:

Branch Category         2020 In-Office Premiums in $ 2021 In-Office Premiums in $            2020 Online Premiums in $    2021 Online Premiums in $

82410  Auto    131654            136748            71165  72618

82410  Health 411298            473779            281852            287604

82410  Home  152500            160477            35680  36408

82410  Life      144100            147335            67556  68935

82410  Other  26137  27907  11271  11501

**Importing Data from a Text File​**

1. Click the first cell on the worksheet to contain the imported data​.

2. Click Data on the ribbon to display the Data tab​.

3. Click the “From Text/CSV” button to display the Import Data dialog box​.

4. If necessary, navigate to the location of the Data files to display the files​.

5. Double-click the name of the file to display the preview window​.

6. Click the Load arrow, then click Load To to display the Import Data dialog box.​

7. Click the Exiting worksheet option button to place the data in the current worksheet rather than on a new sheet​.

8. Click OK to import the data.

9. Capture a screen shot of the spreadsheet and upload it to Canvas.

**Using the Trim Function​**

1. Select the desired cell, type =trim(cell#) and then click Enter button to trim the spaces from the data in the (cell) and display it in the desired cell.

**Pasting Values Only​**

1. With the desired range selected press CTRL+C to copy the data​.

2. Right-click one of the cells to display the shortcut menu​.

3. In the Paste Options area, click the Values icon to paste only the values​.

4. Click the save button on the Quick Access toolbar to save the file with the new data.

5. Capture a screen shot of the spreadsheet and upload it to Canvas.

**Deleting a Column Using Power Query​**

1. In the Navigator dialog box, click the Transform Data button to display the Power Query Editor window​.

2. Click the desired column heading to delete​.

3. Click the Remove Columns button to remove the dollar value columns from the import​.

4. Click the “Close & Load” arrow to display the “Close & Load” menu​.

5. Click the “Close & Load To” command to close the Power Query Editor Window and to display the Import Data dialog box​.

6. Click OK to import the data.

7. Capture a screen shot of the spreadsheet and upload it to Canvas.

**To Transpose Columns and Rows​**

1. With the range to be copied selected, press CTRL+C to copy the selection to the Office Clipboard​.

2. Click a cell to prepare for pasting data into that location​.

3. Click the Paste arrow to display the Paste gallery​.

4. Click the Transpose button in the Paste gallery to transpose and paste the copied cells.

5. Capture a screen shot of the spreadsheet and upload it to Canvas.

**Uploading completed worksheet**

1. Save the workbook to your local drive.

2. Upload the saved spreadsheet to Canvas.

**Part 6**

**Course Objectives:**

· CO8: Import and manipulate data from various sources, use templates and text functions, paste and transpose data, and utilize quick analysis tools for streamlined data handling and presentation.

**Estimated time to Complete:**  20 minutes

**Description:**

Students will learn about:

· Using the Quick Analysis gallery

· Finding and replacing data

**Required Resources:**

· Access to Microsoft Excel.

**Deliverable:**

After completing the assignment, upload the spreadsheet to the Canvas module.

**Setup:**

Access to Microsoft Excel.

**Lab Steps:**

**Formatting Using the Quick Analysis Gallery​**

1. Select the 2020 In-Office Premiums range, then click the Quick Analysis button to display the Quick Analysis gallery​.

2. If necessary, click the Formatting tab to display the Quick Analysis gallery formatting options​.

3. Select the color formatting option.

4. Click a desired cell and type a legend for the formatting.

**Totaling Data​**

1. Click the cell below the last entry for 2020 In-Office Premiums.

2. Type =sum(cell#:cell#) and then click the ENTER button​.

3. Drag the fill handle to the right to replicate the totals for remaining columns

**Uploading completed worksheet**

1. Save the workbook to your local drive.

**Week4-HandsOn01Instructions.doc**

This file is too large to display. [View in new window](https://www.sweetstudy.com/files/week4-handson01instructions-doc)

**Week4-HandsOn01Instructions.doc**

This file is too large to display. [View in new window](https://www.sweetstudy.com/files/week4-handson01instructions-doc)

**## Week4HandsOn02-Instructions.doc**

Week 4 Hands On 02

Instructions

**Exercise 4:**

**Course Objectives:**

· CO8: Import and manipulate data from various sources, use templates and text functions, paste and transpose data, and utilize quick analysis tools for streamlined data handling and presentation.

**Estimated time to Complete:**  20 minutes

**Description:**

Student will learn about:

· Creating and using templates.

**Required Resources:**

· Access to Microsoft Excel.

**Deliverable:**

After completing the assignment, upload the spreadsheet to the Canvas Assignment.

**Setup:**

Access to Microsoft Excel.

**Lab Steps:**

**Creating and Using a Template**

1. Create a new spreadsheet with the following data:

| | | | | | | | | | |
| — | — | — | — | — | — | — | — | — | — |
| **Meyor Insurance**<br>**Sales Analysis** |
| **Branch** | **Category** | **2020 In-Office Premiums in $** | **2021 In-Office Premiums in $** | **2020 Online Premiums in $** | **2021 Online Premiums in $** | **Percentage Increase or Decrease** | | **Sum of Categories** | **2021 Totals** |
| | a | 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 50.00% | | a | 6 |

**Save the Template​**

1. Click the File tab and click Save As to display the Save As screen​.

2. Click the Browse button to display the Save As dialog box​.

3. Type the desired file name in the File name box​.

4. Click the “Save as type” arrow and then click Excel Template in the list to specify that this workbook should be saved as a template​.

5. Navigate to the desired save location​.

6. Click Save to save the template.

**Opening a Template-Based File and Save It as a Workbook​**

1. With Excel active, click File Explorer button on the taskbar to start the File Explorer app​.

2. Navigate to the location of the file to be opened​.

3. Double-click the template file to open a new file based on the template​.

4. Click the File tab and click Save As to display the Save As screen​.

5. Click the Browse button to display the Save As dialog box​.

6. Type the file name in the File name box and then navigate to your storage location​.

Click Save to save the file

**Uploading completed worksheet**

1. Save the workbook to your local drive.

2. Upload the saved spreadsheet to Canvas.

**Part 5**

**Course Objectives:**

· CO8: Import and manipulate data from various sources, use templates and text functions, paste and transpose data, and utilize quick analysis tools for streamlined data handling and presentation.

**Estimated time to Complete:**  20 minutes

**Description:**

Student will learn about:

· Creating and using templates.

**Required Resources:**

· Access to Microsoft Excel.

**Deliverable:**

After completing the assignment, upload the spreadsheet to the Canvas module.

**Setup:**

Access to Microsoft Excel.

**Lab Steps:**

**Creating and Using a Template**

1. Create a tab delimited text file with the following data:

Branch Category         2020 In-Office Premiums in $ 2021 In-Office Premiums in $            2020 Online Premiums in $    2021 Online Premiums in $

82410  Auto    131654            136748            71165  72618

82410  Health 411298            473779            281852            287604

82410  Home  152500            160477            35680  36408

82410  Life      144100            147335            67556  68935

82410  Other  26137  27907  11271  11501

**Importing Data from a Text File​**

1. Click the first cell on the worksheet to contain the imported data​.

2. Click Data on the ribbon to display the Data tab​.

3. Click the “From Text/CSV” button to display the Import Data dialog box​.

4. If necessary, navigate to the location of the Data files to display the files​.

5. Double-click the name of the file to display the preview window​.

6. Click the Load arrow, then click Load To to display the Import Data dialog box.​

7. Click the Exiting worksheet option button to place the data in the current worksheet rather than on a new sheet​.

8. Click OK to import the data.

9. Capture a screen shot of the spreadsheet and upload it to Canvas.

**Using the Trim Function​**

1. Select the desired cell, type =trim(cell#) and then click Enter button to trim the spaces from the data in the (cell) and display it in the desired cell.

**Pasting Values Only​**

1. With the desired range selected press CTRL+C to copy the data​.

2. Right-click one of the cells to display the shortcut menu​.

3. In the Paste Options area, click the Values icon to paste only the values​.

4. Click the save button on the Quick Access toolbar to save the file with the new data.

5. Capture a screen shot of the spreadsheet and upload it to Canvas.

**Deleting a Column Using Power Query​**

1. In the Navigator dialog box, click the Transform Data button to display the Power Query Editor window​.

2. Click the desired column heading to delete​.

3. Click the Remove Columns button to remove the dollar value columns from the import​.

4. Click the “Close & Load” arrow to display the “Close & Load” menu​.

5. Click the “Close & Load To” command to close the Power Query Editor Window and to display the Import Data dialog box​.

6. Click OK to import the data.

7. Capture a screen shot of the spreadsheet and upload it to Canvas.

**To Transpose Columns and Rows​**

1. With the range to be copied selected, press CTRL+C to copy the selection to the Office Clipboard​.

2. Click a cell to prepare for pasting data into that location​.

3. Click the Paste arrow to display the Paste gallery​.

4. Click the Transpose button in the Paste gallery to transpose and paste the copied cells.

5. Capture a screen shot of the spreadsheet and upload it to Canvas.

**Uploading completed worksheet**

1. Save the workbook to your local drive.

2. Upload the saved spreadsheet to Canvas.

**Part 6**

**Course Objectives:**

· CO8: Import and manipulate data from various sources, use templates and text functions, paste and transpose data, and utilize quick analysis tools for streamlined data handling and presentation.

**Estimated time to Complete:**  20 minutes

**Description:**

Students will learn about:

· Using the Quick Analysis gallery

· Finding and replacing data

**Required Resources:**

· Access to Microsoft Excel.

**Deliverable:**

After completing the assignment, upload the spreadsheet to the Canvas module.

**Setup:**

Access to Microsoft Excel.

**Lab Steps:**

**Formatting Using the Quick Analysis Gallery​**

1. Select the 2020 In-Office Premiums range, then click the Quick Analysis button to display the Quick Analysis gallery​.

2. If necessary, click the Formatting tab to display the Quick Analysis gallery formatting options​.

3. Select the color formatting option.

4. Click a desired cell and type a legend for the formatting.

**Totaling Data​**

1. Click the cell below the last entry for 2020 In-Office Premiums.

2. Type =sum(cell#:cell#) and then click the ENTER button​.

3. Drag the fill handle to the right to replicate the totals for remaining columns

**Uploading completed worksheet**

1. Save the workbook to your local drive.

**Week4-HandsOn01Instructions.doc**

This file is too large to display. [View in new window](https://www.sweetstudy.com/files/week4-handson01instructions-doc)

**## Week4HandsOn02-Instructions.doc**

Week 4 Hands On 02

Instructions

**Exercise 4:**

**Course Objectives:**

· CO8: Import and manipulate data from various sources, use templates and text functions, paste and transpose data, and utilize quick analysis tools for streamlined data handling and presentation.

**Estimated time to Complete:**  20 minutes

**Description:**

Student will learn about:

· Creating and using templates.

**Required Resources:**

· Access to Microsoft Excel.

**Deliverable:**

After completing the assignment, upload the spreadsheet to the Canvas Assignment.

**Setup:**

Access to Microsoft Excel.

**Lab Steps:**

**Creating and Using a Template**

1. Create a new spreadsheet with the following data:

| | | | | | | | | | |
| — | — | — | — | — | — | — | — | — | — |
| **Meyor Insurance**<br>**Sales Analysis** |
| **Branch** | **Category** | **2020 In-Office Premiums in $** | **2021 In-Office Premiums in $** | **2020 Online Premiums in $** | **2021 Online Premiums in $** | **Percentage Increase or Decrease** | | **Sum of Categories** | **2021 Totals** |
| | a | 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 50.00% | | a | 6 |

**Save the Template​**

1. Click the File tab and click Save As to display the Save As screen​.

2. Click the Browse button to display the Save As dialog box​.

3. Type the desired file name in the File name box​.

4. Click the “Save as type” arrow and then click Excel Template in the list to specify that this workbook should be saved as a template​.

5. Navigate to the desired save location​.

6. Click Save to save the template.

**Opening a Template-Based File and Save It as a Workbook​**

1. With Excel active, click File Explorer button on the taskbar to start the File Explorer app​.

2. Navigate to the location of the file to be opened​.

3. Double-click the template file to open a new file based on the template​.

4. Click the File tab and click Save As to display the Save As screen​.

5. Click the Browse button to display the Save As dialog box​.

6. Type the file name in the File name box and then navigate to your storage location​.

Click Save to save the file

**Uploading completed worksheet**

1. Save the workbook to your local drive.

2. Upload the saved spreadsheet to Canvas.

**Part 5**

**Course Objectives:**

· CO8: Import and manipulate data from various sources, use templates and text functions, paste and transpose data, and utilize quick analysis tools for streamlined data handling and presentation.

**Estimated time to Complete:**  20 minutes

**Description:**

Student will learn about:

· Creating and using templates.

**Required Resources:**

· Access to Microsoft Excel.

**Deliverable:**

After completing the assignment, upload the spreadsheet to the Canvas module.

**Setup:**

Access to Microsoft Excel.

**Lab Steps:**

**Creating and Using a Template**

1. Create a tab delimited text file with the following data:

Branch Category         2020 In-Office Premiums in $ 2021 In-Office Premiums in $            2020 Online Premiums in $    2021 Online Premiums in $

82410  Auto    131654            136748            71165  72618

82410  Health 411298            473779            281852            287604

82410  Home  152500            160477            35680  36408

82410  Life      144100            147335            67556  68935

82410  Other  26137  27907  11271  11501

**Importing Data from a Text File​**

1. Click the first cell on the worksheet to contain the imported data​.

2. Click Data on the ribbon to display the Data tab​.

3. Click the “From Text/CSV” button to display the Import Data dialog box​.

4. If necessary, navigate to the location of the Data files to display the files​.

5. Double-click the name of the file to display the preview window​.

6. Click the Load arrow, then click Load To to display the Import Data dialog box.​

7. Click the Exiting worksheet option button to place the data in the current worksheet rather than on a new sheet​.

8. Click OK to import the data.

9. Capture a screen shot of the spreadsheet and upload it to Canvas.

**Using the Trim Function​**

1. Select the desired cell, type =trim(cell#) and then click Enter button to trim the spaces from the data in the (cell) and display it in the desired cell.

**Pasting Values Only​**

1. With the desired range selected press CTRL+C to copy the data​.

2. Right-click one of the cells to display the shortcut menu​.

3. In the Paste Options area, click the Values icon to paste only the values​.

4. Click the save button on the Quick Access toolbar to save the file with the new data.

5. Capture a screen shot of the spreadsheet and upload it to Canvas.

**Deleting a Column Using Power Query​**

1. In the Navigator dialog box, click the Transform Data button to display the Power Query Editor window​.

2. Click the desired column heading to delete​.

3. Click the Remove Columns button to remove the dollar value columns from the import​.

4. Click the “Close & Load” arrow to display the “Close & Load” menu​.

5. Click the “Close & Load To” command to close the Power Query Editor Window and to display the Import Data dialog box​.

6. Click OK to import the data.

7. Capture a screen shot of the spreadsheet and upload it to Canvas.

**To Transpose Columns and Rows​**

1. With the range to be copied selected, press CTRL+C to copy the selection to the Office Clipboard​.

2. Click a cell to prepare for pasting data into that location​.

3. Click the Paste arrow to display the Paste gallery​.

4. Click the Transpose button in the Paste gallery to transpose and paste the copied cells.

5. Capture a screen shot of the spreadsheet and upload it to Canvas.

**Uploading completed worksheet**

1. Save the workbook to your local drive.

2. Upload the saved spreadsheet to Canvas.

**Part 6**

**Course Objectives:**

· CO8: Import and manipulate data from various sources, use templates and text functions, paste and transpose data, and utilize quick analysis tools for streamlined data handling and presentation.

**Estimated time to Complete:**  20 minutes

**Description:**

Students will learn about:

· Using the Quick Analysis gallery

· Finding and replacing data

**Required Resources:**

· Access to Microsoft Excel.

**Deliverable:**

After completing the assignment, upload the spreadsheet to the Canvas module.

**Setup:**

Access to Microsoft Excel.

**Lab Steps:**

**Formatting Using the Quick Analysis Gallery​**

1. Select the 2020 In-Office Premiums range, then click the Quick Analysis button to display the Quick Analysis gallery​.

2. If necessary, click the Formatting tab to display the Quick Analysis gallery formatting options​.

3. Select the color formatting option.

4. Click a desired cell and type a legend for the formatting.

**Totaling Data​**

1. Click the cell below the last entry for 2020 In-Office Premiums.

2. Type =sum(cell#:cell#) and then click the ENTER button​.

3. Drag the fill handle to the right to replicate the totals for remaining columns

**Uploading completed worksheet**

1. Save the workbook to your local drive.

**Week4-HandsOn01Instructions.doc**

This file is too large to display. [View in new window](https://www.sweetstudy.com/files/week4-handson01instructions-doc)

Comments

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *